Yeye Yearns with Snell: 3-months in-service training complete

TRADE CALLS (August 26- September)

Every Mondays and Wednesdays I do my calls. Mondays are usually shorter than Wednesdays in duration because only a few venues are usually open. Now let me enlighten you, doing a “call” entails going to a venue and checking if our products are present and that all else concerning our interaction as a company and with the venue is in place. I have been doing calls (which covers the Sales aspect of the internship program) for the past 9 months. At first, my mentor would hold my hand throughout the entire process –that is, accompany me during calls up until he felt like I was ready to do this on my own. My mentor’s teaching skill is that of “Leni I will drop you into the water and you shall learn to swim on your own and make your own mistakes and then you will realize your shortcomings.” I still recall those words from our first interaction with my mentor. It sounded very much intriguing at first, but the more time I actually work alongside him and how he grants me the freedom to paint the canvas the way I want, the more I am actually Yearning and establishing relationships with the different employees at the venues.

Here are a few experiences I will share to give you a feel of my relationship with the different venues

Sneaker Cartel

After I complete my call, I am always fascinated to see which new sneakers have made the shelves overtime when I visit the venue. I really find it fascinating how the owners have incorporated sneakers on display in a nightclub. And just to show how I too can show up, I often rock sneakers when I visit the venue so to say I am also on point when it comes to my sneaker head game. Here is a snap of the coolest kicks I have come across recently.

Souk

Perhaps the most welcoming staff I came to know, the bartenders and employees are always hard at work when I arrive at the venue just a little before commence of business which is at 3PM. Always striking up chats with employees of what went down this past weekend with regards to activations. An employee helped shoot a video of myself when “Cointreau Wednesdays” was still a thing at Souk, merely a shoutout!

Sadly the video(s) failed to upload on this platform

Yours Truly

This is a venue I recently started doing my calls at. I came across a defect where our brands are not placed entirely correctly or in the right order. A good example would be when an opposition brand was placed among our brands. Which is highly inappropriate so I asked the bartender or waiter to fix it.

MARKETING DEPARTMENT: BE US CAMPAIGN (August 23- September)

Joining the Marketing Department Team enabled me to be a part of the proceedings of the Russian Bear BE US campaign that officially launched on September 1st. My learning skill is that of a reflector, I like to observe most of the time than talk. So I would sit in on meetings and probably take note of what has been said or covered during that instant with the different agencies. Moreover, acquainting myself with the lingo of agency and industry professionals was also a challenge for me. I will not lie, they are times I would find myself in agency meetings and it would take me at least an hour to catch on what we are on about or have an idea. My highlight thus far of the campaign would most definitely be that of going to the studio to record ads for the campaign. It was my very first time in the studio and it felt epic just being there and approving or disapproving of anything that I did not like. The individual that I report back to at the Marketing Department team also gives me authority when it comes to approving media or anything concerning the campaign and I truly believe that that is pretty cool.

EXCITING MERCHANDISE (August 29)

You have probably spotted me rocking a light blue puffy or bomber jacket. Well that is the most-rated Energy Fusion jacket by Russian Bear and it is probably safe to say I am the only one rocking it in the office. Behold there is still some exciting merchandise on the way especially for Jose Cuervo and Russian Bear. I love to rep Edward Snell and company. In other words, wherever I go, especially when it is workflow I love to rock the merchandise I have that affiliates with the company and I do that with so much pride without being boastful because that is a value that the company embraces and it speaks back to me. Being a part of approving designs for the BE US campaign was also great fun because the merchandising that the designer comes up with…it is of paramount importance that it speaks back to the brand.

OVERSEEING ACTIVATION: DRINKALOT AT TAKEALOT (August 29)

This was probably a first for me. I had an employee from Edward Snell and company ask me to overlook the Stretton’s activation and boy was it a vibe! Employees from the Takealot headquarters just knocked off from work and it was time for their weekly drink-a-lot session. Mixologists and myself were settling in and in no time there were extensive lines because people were keen to taste and see what we had to offer. Well like Stretton’s would say they were JUST IN (time). The employees there were hip, very outgoing and socializing extensively! The employees were engaging with the mixologists and myself, participating in choosing the condiments and garnishes of their perfect serves. I, of course also joined in on the fun, but I had mocktails because one needs to stay woke so one makes sure whenever one is doing a report feedback on the activation that one actually recalls every single relevant detail thereof.

And just like ice cream being licked off a cone, my official 3-month in-service training is yet to come to an end. Next week, I have to deliver a final presentation of my performance rating review and officially seal things off with the Marketing Department team. I will be sealing things off In Good Spirit since I will be featured in Edward Snell and Company’s official magazine for my work with Yeye Yearns with Snell. I will make sure to share the official article as soon as it is done you just keep yearning with me will you.

Sincerely Panduleni

Leave a comment