Born with HIV Aftermath

“I recall stepping into a Marketing Research lecture and the classroom was full of students. However, I just did not see students…I saw and felt lingering eyes.”

My Digital Marketing educator instructed us as students to start our own blog and upload our very first post. I remember sitting back at my space and it took me hours on end to begin to write. I knew that my very first blog post had to be disruptive, transparent and state nothing but the truth -my truth. However, what I did not know was the events that would follow after having penned down this Born with HIV experience.

The reception was indescribable. I had individuals blowing up my phone with words of encouragement and I also had the lot who disputed and talked me out of it -to withdraw the blog post because I am embarrassing my family more especially my mother. Truth is, I never asked permission from Bampi to come out with this. I never consulted with anybody after the real-life experience either. My friends and I kept it to the self until I came out on 27th February 2019. I did not need anyone to validate my story or experience, I knew as a budding blogger I had to be as raw and transparent as possible. I remember the following days of attending class I faced discomfort and criticism. I recall stepping into a Marketing Research lecture and the classroom was full of students. However, I just did not see students…I saw and felt lingering eyes. Until one of my good friends waved at me to come sit at the seat they reserved for me. It probably took me a couple of minutes to acclimate. My good friends, who have been present from the day I disclosed to them about my status and throughout the coming out phase, tried to make the environment as normal as possible -that is as far as I could tell or rather remember.

The Campaign

Then one day, as I was showering, it hit me that it cannot certainly just stop here. Growing up, I have always been passionate about being an example to both young and old. I am an individual who is an advocate for iterating change so it would only be fair that I became an advocate for the epidemic HIV & AIDS. I decided to launch my own campaign whereby I will be visiting schools in the Western Cape area and sharing my true story. The initial goal was to visit 21 schools but sadly due to financial constraints I managed to only visit one which is Rustenburg Girls High School. I am planning to fulfill the remaining 20 schools in the year 2020 and cannot wait to continuously make my mark in the world.

My purpose is to be compassionate and useful to man. With the Born with HIV campaign I pray to:

• Defy family pressure or absent-mindedness among the public in terms of knowing your status

• Be a model of transparency, encourage openness among society to continuously break the stigma of HIV & AIDS.

• With my true story I truly believe that the public will somewhat resonate more than merely using educational programs to address HIV & AIDS.

Internship: Yeye Yearns with Snell complete

My sought-after time at Edward Snell & Company is coming to an end in about a week or so. Recently, my Yearn with Yeye article was released in Edward Snell’s internal In Good Spirit magazine. My excitement is quite evident via my profile pictures -I have the article gracing my social media pages and I could not be any prouder! We thank God. Have a good read at my article as I share more about how my time with the company has been and also how Yeye Yearns with Snell panned out.

2020

Someone once said; “Kukude emva, kodwa kufitshane ngaphambili” meaning “It is far behind, but even closer forward.” It is self-explanatory. 2020 is the year I complete my Advanced Diploma in Marketing and graduate a second time. Here are snaps from my National Diploma in Marketing graduation that took place on 11 December 2019. Moreover, I will be fulfilling the Born with HIV campaign. God willingly.

Happy Sunday and a very happy holiday and festivities!

Keep Yearning

Sincerely Panduleni

2 thoughts on “Born with HIV Aftermath

  1. This is very touching Pandu.. I will read it again and again. Keep inspiring. Come do the same in schools here at home.. (in Namibia). God will bless you abundantly.

    #teamYeYe

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Shihwandu! Pardon me for only getting back to you now. Thank you for commenting, it is so heartfelt. Namibia? Say no more. Is WHK hierso! 😀 As for #TeamYeye I am SO here for that! Ondapandula unene

      Like

Leave a comment