TRIBUTE TO YOU

“As soon as I got home, seconds turned into minutes as I waited for you to come warmly caress me but there was no sign of you at all. Tears streaming down and that is when I knew you had left me forever.”

Tissues, snacking on Bar-One candy bars as I pen this down straight from my heart. I recall all the events that happened between us prior to the day I found out you were just no more. HOOT HOOT as the Tuscany taxi arrived and Randall helped me carry my bags into my loving home. Bambi huddling me, asking how my trip was and how student life is treating me entirely. I remember being so agitated because something in my spirit just felt like something was missing. Bambi tried distracting me by asking 21 additional questions regarding school as she had left her sweeping –which I found her busy with when I arrived. After all was said and done, I immediately inquired about your whereabouts. That is when she grabbed the broom and continued sweeping the stoop and instructed me to go and put my bags away. I instantaneously became suspicious. Something was just not right. I did as she instructed me to and came back to ask about you once again. She stopped sweeping and said; “This is what I was avoiding to tell you all along. I should have told you a while back but you were busy with your exams and I did not want this to serve as a disruption hence I kept it away from you. Bhova died less than 3 months ago.” And before I could even say anything, I burst out of tears and agonizing pain began to fill the walls of my heart.

“HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER”

On a Sunday morning, I found you or rather you found me. You were stuck next to my trashcan and you were whining I think it was due to the wire wrapped around the trashcan that disabled your movement. Bambi called me out “Yeye, Yeye!” repeatedly with excitement in her voice. As soon as I saw you, you stopped whining and became so ecstatic. Waving your tail and just being jittery and I, on the other hand, I became marvelled by your existence. For a moment I even believed Bambi brought you to me kanti she disputed the claims and said you were Grandma Handjievol’s dog. I still did not mind that you were not entirely mine however, I knew that I would get to spend as ample time as I want with you just living across my street. I remember freeing you from the agonizing pain you were experiencing and just like a new pal, I invited you inside my house and I ran to my fridge, cupboards and took out all the candy and lekkernye (snacks) I thought you might like. I had Cadbury dairymilk chocolate and Nik Naks cheese flavoured chips. I was sceptical whether you might like the snacks but your excitement eliminated all my doubts. I broke one bar of the candybar and let you get the taste (do you like the TASTE?) You chewed on it but I could tell by the look on your face it tasted like nothing you had before. I continued to feed you the Nik Naks, I think you liked that more. Bambi came back inside and I was gushing to her how I just let an entire dog enjoy some of my then favourite snacks. She obviously laughed it off and was just really thrilled to see how much I was bonding with you. In no time, I was sitting in Bambi’s then new couches and you were sitting on her leopard-zebra like mat and watching TV with me. I was staring at you with the corner of my eye and I could tell you seemed pretty confused at the illustrations that were being depicted on TV. I remember standing up to go close the door and immediately when I turned my back towards you, you were legit sitting on the couch like a normal person. I was shocked and nervous at the same time because if Bambi found you on there dis nag! (it is over) I quickly tried to “shooo” you away. Reprimanding you from such behaviour but you looked at me clueless. I became impatient and I remember trying to remove you from the couch but you just remained stationary. After much trouble, I pushed you off and I think you hit your head on the wooden table whilst leaving your claw marks on there. I tried to console you by rubbing your head and giving you some more candy. On a different event, I also remember Grandma Handjievol applying oil on you to remove insects and leeches. Bambi had washed the leopard-zebra like mat and displayed it outside, you did the most bizarre thing ever –you legit went to lie on the CLEAN wet mat with your oil-covered body. I remember busting you but it had been already too late cause the mat was covered in black oil. I was SO scared for you chap. Bambi was furious and I recall telling Ethan about the incident –in Bambi’s words; “If I had an axe, I would have chopped Bhova’s head in half for what he did.” That was another funny and a little nerve-wrecking experience too.

Days, weeks, months and eventually years passed on by. We went on our weekly lake dates with Rozelle and late Clover, visited Jordan and Ounooi at the Boere-quarters during high school, I saved up and bought you your first leash from Spar and fun toys and snacks too. Myself and Ryan Mangweni teached you how to skip rope, play football like no other Kasi or Lokshin dog would. You were more than that, you were superb. You were a super dog. I even experienced painful moments with you. I remember when this one Rastafarian was passing by our street and you came at him and he got aggressive and picked up a rock and aimed it at you and how I thought I was your supergirl and flew in to protect you –only for the rock to hit me on the left side of my face. I grew such a huge lump and I was crying hysterically but you still chased after him. Or how you got bitten by a snake and your face and neck became swollen for days on end –that was another terrifying experience for me because at the time Port Nolloth had no sustainable veterinarian. How Nogqa made a song for you “Bhova, Bhova Nja Yam Ndiyakthanda. Uzukhule x3” (“Bhova, Bhova My Dog I Love You. May You Grow Strong”) -showcasing our immense love for you as our dog. Lastly how Asiphe, Caroline, Toschca, Elene, Diago, Bronwyn, Dwayne, Maria and the rest of my classmates would show you immense love by asking how you are and your wellbeing. ALL these incredible memoirs, I will hold dear to my heart champ.

“I know during the last few years of your life span I was not fully present and I do not want to cite school as an excuse. I just want to let you know that my childhood was an even wonderful experience with you being in it. Thank you for the moments. I promise to love you forever. You will always be the biggest part of me.”

Rest in Paradise Bhova 03/2018.

Sincerely Panduleni

One thought on “TRIBUTE TO YOU

Leave a comment